Skip to content

HarperCollins Summer Party 2017

July 11, 2017

Imagine my excitement when, as one of their 2017 authors, I was invited to HarperCollins’ 200-years-of-publishing Summer Party 2017. It was HarperCollins who published my very first book – my eight-page infant-reader, A Fishy Tale. Since then more books have followed – a little longer than that first ‘tome’ (although what A Fishy Tale lacked in length, it gained in size when it was later printed in Big Book format).

So on 5th July I headed to London to enjoy HarperCollins’ generous hospitality. The evening began with a pre-party gathering in The Bunch of Grapes and led to the party proper in the stunning setting of the V&A‘s central courtyard. First, we enjoyed warm sunshine, then as darkness fell, the fabulous floodlighting.

It was wonderful to meet fellow authors and I soon found myself ‘celeb-spotting’ – my favourite being Paddington Bear! (RIP his creator, author Michael Bond, who died last month, and long live his lovely character.) I won’t name-drop, but will add a link here to The Bookseller’s account of the happy occasion if you want to discover a few others who were there – authors of grown-ups’ and children’s books! For myself, it was a delight to put faces to names of editors with whom I’ve worked over the years, and a privilege to celebrate publishing in such a beautiful venue.

Now, watch this space for my latest title on HarperCollins’ list, out later this year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

