Skip to content

Happy World Book Day!

March 5, 2015

I hope you are having a lovely day celebrating books and the joy of reading. Perhaps you have dressed up as your favourite character from fiction. I haven’t dressed up as I’m still trying to make up my mind which character I like the most. Maybe Winnie the Pooh? Perhaps Paddington Bear? Or Rupert Bear? Ooh, I think I see a pattern emerging here. What is it about bears that make them so appealing, when in real life, they’d probably squeeze you to death as soon as look at you?

That’s the joy of making up stories and poems. You can make anything happen. You can go anywhere – from the bottom of the sea to a far off planet – an imaginary planet, at that! You can invent impossible characters and situations and see where they take you.

When you’ve finished reading, have a go at writing your own story. When you have written something from your own head that nobody has ever written or read before, then … Wow! You’re an author!

Today I’ve been reading a magazine that is distributed widely in the South Hams, an area of South Devon where I live. It’s called By the Dart and is full of real life stories about local places, events and people. It comes out bimonthly, and in the new issue, Kate Cotton has written up an interview with me. So if you want to find out more about how I became an author and poet, and what I’m currently writing, pick up a copy, and turn to page 55.

Of course, that sounds difficult if you don’t live in the Dartmouth area, but it isn’t as hard as it sounds. You can read the interview – and, indeed, the whole magazine – online. The interview with me is here. Or click on the picture below. When the link appears, click on the bottom right hand corner of the magazine cover to turn the pages. Enjoy!

ByTheDart_March2015cover

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

