Skip to content

Bird’s Eye Views

June 25, 2013

poem & photo © Celia Warren 2013

Every time I visit London I try and pack in as much sight-seeing as possible. This latest visit was primarily to help celebrate my two children’s June birthdays. We had a superb lunch at the OXO tower restaurant: wonderful food and amazing panoramic views!

It wasn’t the only place from which I viewed London from on high this last weekend. I also climbed the 311 steps to the top of the Monument – a tower built in the 1670s to commemorate the Great Fire of London in 1666, and celebrate the rebuilding of the city. It was designed by Sir Christopher Wren and Dr Robert Hooke. Two days later I climbed a further few hundred steps to the dome of St Paul’s Cathedral – again designed and built by Sir Christopher Wren and, again, with fantastic views of the city.

But I’m sharing this photograph (above) that I took at London’s Science Museum. It is a model of the Montgolfiers’ air balloon, an example of early flight that inspired a poem.  I wrote the poem over ten years ago, but you can read it here, with the words overlaid on to my photograph. 230 years ago, Joseph and Etienne Montgolfier must have enjoyed their bird’s eye view of the world, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

