Skip to content

Cold Morning animated by Naomi Bennett

June 6, 2013

Six months ago, a third-year art student from Staffordshire University wrote to me: talented illustrator, Naomi Bennett, was studying animation and was asking permission to use the words of one of my poems as the subject of her animation for her final project. I was delighted to agree. Cold Morning is one of my favourite poems. It grew from a dream that I had soon after Matty, our beloved family Labrador, died.  Even though I wrote the poem myself, I get a lump in my throat when I read it. Here are some frames from Naomi’s film:

ColdMorningTitle_© Naomi Bennett 2013

© Naomi Bennett 2013 Illustrations © Naomi Bennett 2013

Can you imagine my excitement when Naomi sent a link to the finished film? And my delight when I saw her kind dedication to Matty at the end? Can you imagine how I watched it with tears streaming down my face?

Art – in words and pictures – is a strange thing. It can make you happy and sad at the same time. That’s how Naomi’s film makes me feel. Although she based the setting and the appearance on her own home and dog, Naomi has interpreted my words so perfectly that I wanted to share them with you.

There is another pleasing coincidence. At the time my children were growing up with our dog we lived in … Staffordshire. So Matty should feel at home. I hope she is wagging her tail in doggie-heaven and watching this film with us.

To see Naomi’s animation and hear the poem Cold Morning, click here.

If you’d like to learn more about how the artist set about creating this film, click here to view Naomi’s blog.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 10,06,13

    How very lovely!

  2. Walter de la Blip permalink
    April 3, 2014 03,04,14

    I just revisited Cold Morning as, lately, my mornings have been cool (but not cold). Matty was a lovely dog. We are all so lucky to share our lives with these wonderful creatures.

Leave a Reply

