Skip to content

Do Pheasants Count?

January 28, 2012

Counting birds, today, you say?
Well, don’t let me get in your way.
I’m only here to strut my stuff
and scoff some seeds, if there’s enough,
and then I’ll leave you to your count.
These chaffinches – they must amount,
for starters, to the biggest crowd.
(And then there’s me – am I allowed?)
Don’t forget young robin there;
the dunnocks, sparrows, and … but where
have all those daily starlings gone?
A census and that gang not on?
(These seeds are tasty by the way.
I might return another day.)

poem © Celia Warren 2012

If you have an hour to spare today or tomorrow, 28-29 January, do take part in the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch. It’s very relaxing to sit, watch and count the birds in your garden, or an area you are visiting. Today this pheasant arrived, as if to say, Do I count?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 28,01,12

    I doubt that I’ll see any pheasants, Celia, but I do plan to participate in a bird count in the U.S. February 17-20. I love your picture and your poem!
    http://www.birdsource.org/gbbc/

    • January 28, 2012 28,01,12

      It really was as if this pheasant knew it was ‘bird count weekend’. He is never there normally. OTOH, the starlings that are always there did not turn up! Perhaps I shall count again tomorrow, and choose the more typical numbers … unless the birds continue to tease me all weekend!

      • January 28, 2012 28,01,12

        Oh, I think you ought to report accurately exactly the birds you see on this day. Celia. I guess maybe that’s why the ones administering the “Great Backyard Bird Count” over here have set it up to last four days. I don’t expect to see anything but a mockingbird and a few crows. But over here, if we can identify a bird by its call, we’re allowed to count it. So perhaps a dove or a cardinal may make its way into my February report.

  2. January 28, 2012 28,01,12

    How lovely that would be. I’ve only seen pictures of mockingbirds and cardinals. Maybe one of these days I shall head to the States and do some bird-watching there, too.

    • January 28, 2012 28,01,12

      Oh, I would love to see you in Nashville, Celia! I’d get my nephew to take us on a drive through some of its beautiful parks. Think of a spring or a fall visit some year in the near future!

  3. January 28, 2012 28,01,12

    That sounds very tempting, Mary. x

  4. Sue Hardy-Dawson permalink
    January 28, 2012 28,01,12

    Obviously the birds in your garden are more intellectual than mine, I caught two sparrows cracking open a tinny and discussing the footy. Needless to say neither of them could count

Leave a Reply

