Skip to content

I’m not a twitcher, I’m a dude!

May 28, 2011

I spend a lot of time enjoying the bird-life rife in South Devon (and elsewhere) and began to wonder if I am becoming a twitcher (not to be confused with Twitter – I don’t tweet). So I decided to look in that fount of (all? any?) knowledge: Wikipedia, and discovered a Twitchers’ Vocabulary (jargon words related to bird-watchers), which made me conclude I’m a dude!

I quote:

Dude: “A posh bird-watcher who doesn’t really know all that much about birds.” – Bill Oddie, 1980 (Bill Oddie’s Little Black Bird Book. Methuen Publishing. ISBN 0413494802); “A novice birdwatcher; slightly pejorative term. Also used to refer to someone who primarily seeks out birds for photography rather than study.” –  2008 (“The A to Z of birding.” Australian Geographic 90: 104-105)

I may be a dude, but I am actually interested in finding out more about birds, and checking on their identity. I often reach for my bird books to look them up. But I also enjoy photographing them with my faithful point-and-click digital camera. And I feed them all the year round – they appreciate ‘easy food’ at this time of year, when there are lots of hungry baby beaks to fill, as well as in the sparse cold of winter.

Some birds have proved too quick and elusive for me. The wren, that I often glimpse as it roots around in the tangled depths of clematis stems, is one. So I have resorted to the old coin of my early childhood to illustrate this charming little bird.

This poem appears in The RSPB Anthology of Wildlife, which I have had the joy and privilege of compiling for A & C Black. It will be available to buy, soon – a book for keeps. 2011 publication date: 1st September: a date to remember!


ISBN 978 1 4081 3118 3

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 28,05,11

    Lovely

  2. May 28, 2011 28,05,11

    Wonderful post about your life among birds, Celia. Congratulations on the book’s publication!

  3. May 28, 2011 28,05,11

    ooh, lovely. wish I’d known you had been compiling that. I’d have love to have sent you some submissions! I have been working on an a-z anthology of endangered species for some time now and don’t know quite what to do with it.

    • May 29, 2011 29,05,11

      Didn’t know you then, Doda. Shall be in touch next time. If this tome is a success, I’ve plans for a sister volume… discussed with my editor, but it will depend on sales figures of this one. Fingers crossed and watch this space. It IS a really lovely book – lavishly illustrated, as well.

  4. Sue Hardy-Dawson permalink
    June 1, 2011 01,06,11

    Can’t wait it looks lovely X

  5. Sue Hardy-Dawson permalink
    June 1, 2011 01,06,11

    happy smile x

  6. August 8, 2011 08,08,11

    Lovely to find your blog Celia! And I look forward to this book – sounds lovely.

    A twitcher, in search of a bird,
    Made a promise that everyone heard.
    “If that isn’t a chat,
    I’ll devour my hat!”
    It was not; he was true to his word.

  7. August 9, 2011 09,08,11

    Hello, Anne.

    Lovely to see you here – and so nice of you to pen a limerick, too! Proud to have your poem on this page!

    Do come again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

