Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day!

February 14, 2010

ATTRACTION

for Ray

You came and leaned over to see what I drew:
The pictures don’t matter; my pencil drew you.

Although I wrote this for, and about, my husband many years ago, the couplet above has only just this month appeared in print in Graham Denton’s brand new anthology:

My Cat is in Love with the Goldfish and Other Loopy Love PoemsGraham Denton Published by A&C BLACK  –  ISBN 978-1-4081-1559-6

The book is my recommendation for a fun look at falling in love and includes a number of favourites by that ubiquitous poet Anon, such as:

“Your teeth are like the stars,” he said,
And pressed her hand so white.
He spoke the truth, for like the stars,
Her teeth came out at night.

And here’s an undersea love poem about a skeleton who is in love with a mermaid …

For the Love of a Mermaid


I’m an old sailor’s skeleton
Lost deep down undersea.
I drowned so many years ago
The world’s forgotten me.
My shipwreck is my only home
But after all these years
I’ve fallen for a mermaid
I love everything of hers:

She’s the dimples on a dolphin;
She’s the freckles on a fish;
She’s the blush on an octopus’s cheek;
She’s the manatee’s elbows;
She’s the nails of a whale;
She makes my bones go weak.

I’m an old sailor’s skeleton
Lost deep down undersea.
She’s a mermaid in a million,
Will she ever look at me?
My shipwreck is my only home
But after all these years
I’d like to take my mermaid
And make my shipwreck hers.

©  Celia Warren 2010

To all who enjoy 14th February: Have a nice day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 16,02,10

    Hi Celia, Love the new header and love the valentine’s section 🙂

  2. celiawarren permalink*
    February 16, 2010 16,02,10

    Glad you like it! Do visit again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

