Skip to content

The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe

August 18, 2009

ISBN 978 1 407 11400 2

Inside my much-loved copy of C S Lewis’s The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe is the inscription “To Celia for a good report July 1962 from Mummy”. This was one of my first experiences of a book so gripping that I couldn’t put it down. (My first, a couple of years earlier, had been Johanna Spyri’s Heidi.)

Even though, throughout my ’60s childhood, I was taken to church every Sunday morning and sent to Sunday School every Sunday afternoon, I totally failed to spot the Christian allegory until many years later. But it was a book that I reread many times and thoroughly enjoyed.

Little did I know that some tens of years later I should be invited to write (my ninth!) Read and Respond book for Scholastic of classroom activities based on The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. And now I can hold that book in my hands. I am lucky to be able to show my 89-year-old mother, and I am thrilled to think I am helping new generations of children to enjoy such a great read.

As for that ‘good report’ – I’ve no idea how that happened!

Read & Respond, The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe, is available from September 2009. Visit Scholastic to pre-order, ISBN 978 1 407 11400 2

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

